Search Discussions:
Advanced Search...
Welcome to Nokia Support Discussions! Here you can share advice and tips with thousands of other Nokia users around the world in English. Many Nokia employees also follow and participate in the discussions, see our guidelines for more information. Everyone can search and read the discussions, but to post your own question or reply to others, simply sign in with your Nokia account. If this is your first time here, you can choose an alias to represent you. And if you don't have a Nokia account yet, please register.

N900 EMMC loss and difficulty re-flashing

Advisor
Geordie_Bill

N900 EMMC loss and difficulty re-flashing

Hi,

I am an embedded engineer so fairly ok with the tech.

I have had my phone three days. It has lost the 32GB of memory and is relying upon a few MB to operate the OS but not enough for effective use.

Following posts on the 'net and Maemo forums, I have attempted to reflash the the phone using both:

RX-51_2009SE_3.2010.02-8.203.1_PR_COMBINED_203_ARM.bin

followed by:

RX-51_2009SE_1.2009.41-1.VANILLA_PR_EMMC_MR0_ARM.bin

I can get the FIASCO to flash but not the EMMC; I am using flasher-3.5 on a vista PC.

I get "error code 1" from the attempt to flash  the EMMC.

Help and advice please...I am still not certain that the is not something electrically faulty here too.

Is there some way of wiping the lot and starting again?

Advice please...

Thanks,

Bill

Please use plain text.
Mobile Guru

Re: N900 EMMC loss and difficulty re-flashing

Are you rebooting between flashing the combined image and attempting to flash the vanilla image?

what other output do you see when you try to flash the emmc?

Remove the -R option from the flasher command line to prevent it from rebooting after flashing
Please use plain text.
Mobile Guru

Open an x term and run:

dmesg |grep -i emmc

You can find the | character by pressing the blue shift button then ctrl and finding it on the on screen symbol picker..