Search Discussions:
Advanced Search...
Welcome to Nokia Support Discussions! Here you can share advice and tips with thousands of other Nokia users around the world in English. Many Nokia employees also follow and participate in the discussions, see our guidelines for more information. Everyone can search and read the discussions, but to post your own question or reply to others, simply sign in with your Nokia account. If this is your first time here, you can choose an alias to represent you. And if you don't have a Nokia account yet, please register.

How to unlock Nokia Lumia 1020? Please Help Me.

melchzedeck

How to unlock Nokia Lumia 1020? Please Help Me.

Hi! How do you unlock Nokia Lumia 1020 w/c is locked with AT&T? I just bought mine in the US a couple weeks ago, but before I bought the phone I asked the AT&T Customer Number (1-800-331-0500) that I am a non-US resident and I bringing the phone to my Country. The lady on the other line told me there's no problem as long as I am buying the phone with no obligaation / pay in full price of the phone and call them again thay can unlock the phone. When I bought the phone and called again, the person on the other line told me he can't and the only way is thru website www.att.com/deviceunlock. Now, I've been trying to unlock my phone since Aug. 31 but no avail. So, are those people in AT&T customer service didn't really know what are they doing and if it is really in their hearth to be called a customer service representative? Because, if they knew what are they doing this should have not happen and I should not bought this phone. Now, when I blog thru their website somebody emailed me and telling me different policies again, here is the last email he sent me.

Thanks for taking my call today. As discussed, after further review your device is not eligible to be unlocked for the following reasons:

• The person requesting the unlock must be one of the following:
  • a current AT&T customer