2011-01-11 9:33 - edited 2011-01-11 9:34
Nokia or voda have absolutely nothing to do with you receiving this message. You were simply randomly selected by scammers than had no clue as to what phone you had!
Like all obvious spam just delete it and forget about it.
2011-05-22
14:32
- last edited on
2011-05-28
23:20
by
zipper22
My hubby go it too saying "You won £990,000 Pounds in NOKIA UK PROMO.Ref No:NK443.to claim send your Name & Mobile
Not once but twice, and at 11.30pm, we were in bed, little **bleep** scammers.![]()
Moderator Note: Personal contact information removed as they were not allowed to be posted on a public web forum.
2011-05-23
6:55
- last edited on
2011-05-28
23:22
by
zipper22
Hi Steve, I received have a similar message today telling me to respond. Unfortunately I had expected it as there are reports all over the net of this activity on the rise significantly.
Under the Australian SPAM Act 2003 sending and receiving SPAM messages on an Australian website or sending SPAM messages to an Australian citizen is a serious offence with a penalty up to AUD$220,000 - $1.1 million.
"It is now easier than ever to report spam email and SMS messages you receive. You can do this quickly and easily in two ways:
For SMS, forward the message to the Spam SMS service
(You will be billed the standard rate charged by your mobile phone provider for sending an SMS message)
For email, forward the message to the Spam Intelligence Database
Important note:
When forwarding an email message, please do not change the subject line of the message or add additional text.The ACMA will only contact you in relation to a report if it requires further information to assist it in its anti-spam activities."
http://www.acma.gov.au/WEB/STANDARD/pc=PC_310369
http://www.acma.gov.au/webwr/consumer_info/frequen
Moderator Note: Personal details removed as they were unallowed to be published on a public web forum.
2011-05-28
22:43
- last edited on
2011-05-28
23:08
by
zipper22
My sms was from and reads "Just won 750,000 pounds in NOKIA UK MOBILE PROMO.For claim send Name,Address,Mobile No & Occupation
Retyped above exactly as is. Received it today - 28th May, 2011 at 3:58:34pm. I live in Trinidad. West Indies.
Have to admit I almost started smoking again when I saw it. How the hell did they get my no? I bet some idiots actually send the money. I have seen comments about this scam on the net dated since 2008 !!!. Nokia must be truly fed up of this by now.
Moderator Note: Personal contact information removed. This information is not allowed to be published on a public web forum.
2011-07-29 15:54
Hi ,
I received a msg the other day saying I have won 135000 pounds, what say you?
2011-07-29 17:01
2011-08-17 11:45
2011-08-17 12:49
The scammers get no respect whatsoever from Nokia, Nokia issued the following public statement for the benefit of members of the public affected by these issues:
You should rest assured you that Nokia has NEVER shared any Discussions members' personal data with any organisations or individuals involved in these criminal activities. The scammers use the names of numerous global brands to try to trick members of the public, including Nokia, Microsoft, AOL, Coca-Cola, Citibank et cetera. None of these companies is involved in these activities, and you don not have to be a member of any service offered by any of these companies to receive them.
The best way to avoid scams of this nature is to be very careful who (companies, websites etc.) you give your contact details to, and never publish your contact on internet forums, blogs and so on.
2012-03-21 12:16
I received a message that goes does. (NOKIA UK PROMO) YOUR NUMBER HAS QUALIFIED YOU FOR 65,000 POUNDS FOR CLAIMS SEND NAME, NUMBER & COUNTRY TO THIS EMAIL: NOKIALONDONCLAIMS51@ADMIN.IN.TH. PLEASE IS THIS AUTHENTIC?
2012-03-21 12:21
great4lif wrote:
I received a message that goes does. (NOKIA UK PROMO) YOUR NUMBER HAS QUALIFIED YOU FOR 65,000 POUNDS FOR CLAIMS SEND NAME, NUMBER & COUNTRY TO THIS EMAIL: NOKIALONDONCLAIMS51@ADMIN.IN.TH. PLEASE IS THIS AUTHENTIC?
unfortunately, that is not authentic
2012-04-07 13:06
2012-04-07 13:49
2012-04-17 4:16
2012-04-17 4:21 - edited 2012-04-17 4:23
Now since you have asked it... read the posts above once again to get the answer...because the CORRECT answer is there in more than one post..
2012-04-17 4:29
2012-04-17 5:14
Danielle995 wrote:
Huh. Guess one has to ask for themselves to believe it; oh well, **bleep** happens.
Thabks for the help, have a nice day
Its not your fault.. the offer is TOO tempting ..
2012-04-17 13:06
This is called the "Nigerian scam 401"
2012-11-14 14:45
Hello
I have received a message tomorrow morning from nokia that you have win 1 million pound during ending year promo in UK. Your serial number is 52-2012. after that I sent an email to the adress which he has mentioned in nokia message and he replied that your check has been deposited in citi bank london please contact with them urgently and when I send an email to them with total information he said to deposit some amount in citi bank london please tell me what is this. is it right or wrong? I will wait for your reply on my email ID.
thanks
2012-11-14 17:17
Haven't you read the complete thread before putting up your query ? The answer is already mentioned in more than one posts... If you have won some amount, why do they want YOU to deposite money ?
Just think that you never received the mail ...
2012-12-10 15:26