Search Discussions:
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Advanced Search...
Welcome to Nokia Support Discussions! Here you can share advice and tips with thousands of other Nokia users around the world in English. Many Nokia employees also follow and participate in the discussions, see our guidelines for more information. Everyone can search and read the discussions, but to post your own question or reply to others, simply sign in with your Nokia account. If this is your first time here, you can choose an alias to represent you. And if you don't have a Nokia account yet, please register.

Re: 5800 Ovi map problems

Contributor
jameswild89
Accepted Solution

5800 Ovi map problems

Hi guys,

im quite new to this so help would be appreciated,

Everytime i open ovi maps and try to go online i get the error message 'something went wrong and the connection failed'?

i have no idea how to get around this or what to do so help would be appreciated.

Many thanks

James

Please use plain text.
Mobile Sensei
carman58

Hi, assuming you have the latest map app and your settings are ok everything should work ! Just in case, try this:

first connect phone to computer and use Nokia Software Updater or Ovi suite to check you have the latest software update.

Second go Menu-settings-application mngr.-installed apps.-scroll down to Ovi Maps/Nokia maps and select options-uninstall, do this for all maps software.

Third , go menu-Applications and scroll down to Location app and open positioning-positioning methodsand tick everything except Bluetooth GPS

Now go here and download the correct version for your phone and install this (the bottom download not the first one)

http://betalabs.nokia.com/apps/ovi-maps-beta-for-mobile/download_and_installation

Finally using Nokia Map Loader, remove all old maps on phone and download the maps for your region and install them to your phone, all should be fine  :smileywink: