What is the difference between doing a 'reset' on a N8, or going to the settings option for "Restore Factory Settings"?
I assume that the Restore tool will bring the phone back to the way it was, when the last firmware update was completed. All user added information will be wiped. Is this correct?
I've read about people losing the ability to do certain things after doing a 'reset'. Is this applicable when doing the Restore Factory Settings as well?
Solved! Go to Solution.
What type of RESETS you are refering to ?
Factory Restore (..or Factore Reset) will not remove any user data..It reverts all the SETTINGS back to Out-of-Box state..Refer Pg.No. 117 of the User_Guide .
The Soft / Hard Resets will remove data from the Phone Memory.
There are three reset methods available. The first method in Factory settings is a simple restore and won't wipe any data from the phone. The second method in Factory settings will wipe data from the phone. The third method is known as the "three fingered suicide" and not only will it remove all data from the phone, it will also remove Ovi store, Social and maps. This method should only be used to try and revive a dead phone.
Though it will not.. its always advisable to Back-up Data. I would also do a SYNC as additional safety because there are many reports that the 'Restore' did not work correctly and so on.. With the Sync, you are sure that the data is saved on PC as you can see it in the OVI Suite. To open the Back-up (.nbu) file and confirm is a much lengthier process that requres other application to perform that job...
This post has been moved to Mobile Products > Nseries and Symbian Smartphones.